Tag Archives: Book of the Week

Book of the Week | The German Heiress by Anika Scott

TITLE: The German Heiress

AUTHOR: Anika Scott

RELEASE DATE: April 7, 2020

GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family’s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.

Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who’s hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other—if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.(Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | The Prisoner’s Wife by Maggie Brookes

TITLE: The Prisoner’s Wife

AUTHOR: Maggie Brookes

RELEASE DATE: May 26, 2020

GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Inspired by the true story of a daring deception that plunges a courageous young woman deep into the horrors of a Nazi POW camp to be with the man she loves.

In the dead of night, a Czech farm girl and a British soldier travel through the countryside. Izabela and prisoner of war Bill have secretly married and are on the run, with Izzy dressed as a man. The young husband and wife evade capture for as long as possible–until they are cornered by Nazi soldiers with tracking dogs.

Izzy’s disguise works. The couple are assumed to be escaped British soldiers and transported to a POW camp. However, their ordeal has just begun, as they face appalling living conditions and the constant fear of Izzy’s exposure. But in the midst of danger and deprivation comes hope, for the young couple are befriended by a small group of fellow prisoners. These men become their new family, willing to jeopardize their lives to save Izzy from being discovered and shot.

The Prisoner’s Wife tells of an incredible risk, and of how our deepest bonds are tested in desperate times. Bill and Izzy’s story is one of love and survival against the darkest odds. (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | The Orphan Thief by Glynis Peters

TITLE: The Orphan Thief

AUTHOR: Glynis Peters

RELEASE DATE: November 28, 2019

GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

From the international bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

When all seems lost…

As Hitler’s bombs rain down on a battered and beleaguered Britain, Ruby Shadwell is dealt the most devastating blow – her entire family lost during the Coventry Blitz.

Hope still survives…

Alone and with the city in chaos, Ruby is determined to survive this war and rebuild her life.  And a chance encounter with street urchin Tommy gives Ruby just the chance she needs…

And love will overcome.

Because Tommy brings with him Canadian Sergeant Jean-Paul Clayton.  Jean-Paul is drawn to Ruby and wants to help her, but Ruby cannot bear another loss. Can love bloom amidst the ruins?  Or will the war take Ruby’s last chance at happiness too? (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | The Traitor by V.S. Alexander

TITLE: The Traitor

AUTHOR: V.S. Alexander

RELEASE DATE: February 25, 2020

GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Drawing on the true story of the White Rose—the resistance movement of young Germans against the Nazi regime—The Traitor tells of one woman who offers her life in the ultimate battle against tyranny, during one of history’s darkest hours.

In the summer of 1942, as war rages across Europe, a series of anonymous leaflets appears around the University of Munich, speaking out against escalating Nazi atrocities. The leaflets are hidden in public places, or mailed to addresses selected at random from the phone book. Natalya Petrovich, a student, knows who is behind the leaflets—a secret group called the White Rose, led by siblings Hans and Sophie Scholl and their friends.

As a volunteer nurse on the Russian front, Natalya witnessed the horrors of war first-hand. She willingly enters the White Rose’s circle, where every hushed conversation, every small act of dissent could mean imprisonment or death at the hands of an infuriated Gestapo. Natalya risks everything alongside her friends, hoping the power of words will encourage others to resist. But even among those she trusts most, there is no guarantee of safety—and when danger strikes, she must take an extraordinary gamble in her own personal struggle to survive. (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | To The Edge of Sorrow by Aharon Appelfeld

TITLE: To The Edge of Sorrow

AUTHOR: Aharon Appelfeld

RELEASE DATE: January 14, 2020

GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

From “fiction’s foremost chronicler of the Holocaust” (Philip Roth), a haunting novel about an unforgettable group of Jewish partisans fighting the Nazis during World War II.

Battling numbing cold, ever-present hunger, and German soldiers determined to hunt them down, four dozen resistance fighters–escapees from a nearby ghetto–hide in a Ukrainian forest, determined to survive the war, sabotage the German war effort, and rescue as many Jews as they can from the trains taking them to concentration camps.

Their leader is relentless in his efforts to turn his ragtag band of men and boys into a disciplined force that accomplishes its goals without losing its moral compass. And so when they’re not raiding peasants’ homes for food and supplies, or training with the weapons taken from the soldiers they have ambushed and killed, the partisans read books of faith and philosophy that they have rescued from abandoned Jewish homes, and they draw strength from the women, the elderly, and the remarkably resilient orphaned children they are protecting.

When they hear about the advances being made by the Soviet Army, the partisans prepare for what they know will be a furious attack on their compound by the retreating Germans. In the heartbreaking aftermath of the assault, the survivors emerge from the forest to bury their dead, care for their wounded, and grimly confront a world that is surprised by their existence–and profoundly unwelcoming.

Narrated by seventeen-year-old Edmund–a member of the group who maintains his own inner resolve with memories of his parents and their life before the war–this powerful story of Jews who fought back is suffused with the riveting detail that Aharon Appelfeld is uniquely able to bring to his award-winning novels. (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | You Have to Believe Me by Sunday Tomassetti

TITLE: You Have to Believe Me

AUTHOR: Sunday Tomassetti

RELEASE DATE: September 19, 2019

GENRE: Fiction, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller

BUY LINKS: AMAZON

She has every reason to hate her ex … it doesn’t mean she wants him dead.

Every day on her way home from work, Dove Damiani drives past her ex-house, where her ex-husband lives with her ex-dog and her ex-yoga instructor, next to her ex-neighbors and the ex-life she once affectionately described as “frighteningly perfect.”

To outsiders, Dove is bitter and resentful. The divorce left her alone, with nothing but a set of car keys and 50% of a paltry savings account.

So when the lifeless body of her former husband is discovered in the birch grove outside Dove’s apartment on what would have been their fifth wedding anniversary, investigators waste no time making Dove a person of interest.

She swears she didn’t do it. She’s never so much as killed a spider in her thirty-four years.

But as evidence mounts against her, Dove finds herself questioning her memory, her sanity, and finally—her innocence. (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

Book of the Week | The Poison Garden by A.J. Banner

TITLE: The Poison Garden

AUTHOR: A.J. Banner

PUBLISHER: Lake Union Publishing

RELEASE DATE: October 22, 2019

GENRE: Fiction, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller

BUY LINKS: AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND

A woman’s idyllic life becomes a deceptive hall of mirrors in a thriller of exquisitely constructed psychological suspense by A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor.

Elise Watters seems to have it all—a blissful marriage, a gorgeous Victorian home surrounded by lush gardens, and a dream job running her late mother’s herbal boutique.

But on the eve of her first wedding anniversary, Elise makes a shocking discovery that turns her life upside down and casts doubt on everything she thought she knew—about her marriage, her friends, and even herself. As she treads into dangerous territory, Elise is forced to wonder: Is her whole future at stake? Or is paranoia getting the best of her?

If she is to believe what she sees, Elise has every reason to fear for her life… (Description from Goodreads

Follow Stories Unfolded on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads

%d bloggers like this: